To engage in the practice of real estate brokerage in Kentucky, all individuals must obtain a sales associate or broker license from the Kentucky Real Estate Commission. Individuals must meet the following requirements to apply for licensure.
Requirements for a Ky. Real Estate License
All applicants must:
- Be 18 years of age;
- Have attained a high school diploma or GED;
(see also: Foreign Transcripts )
- Completed all real estate pre-license courses prior to taking the real estate examination;
- Complete FBI criminal background check; and
- Must apply within sixty (60) days of passing their exam.
Applicants for the Sales Associate License must also:
- Have completed either six (6) credit hours in real estate courses from an accredited college or ninety-six (96) classroom hours in real estate classes from an approved proprietary school; and
- Take and pass the Kentucky Sales Associate exam.
Applicants for a Broker’s License must also have:
- Experience: Two (2) years of experience working at least twenty (20) hours a week as a licensee. The experience verification affidavit is only provided as a part of the application by the testing service once the exam has been passed; and
- Education: Twenty-one (21) credit hours with twelve (12) in real estate from an accredited college with three (3) credit hours in Brokerage Management or three hundred thirty-six (336) classroom hours in real estate from an approved proprietary school with forty-eight (48) in Brokerage Management.
The typlical broker applicant's education is made up of the following courses:
- Real Estate Principles - 96 classroom hours. This is the course most individuals completed to obtain their sales associate license.
- Brokerage Management - 48 classroom hours. This is a mandatory course for broker applicants. This course must have been completed on or after September of 2000.
- Real Estate Law - 48 classroom hours. Real Estate Law is the course most licensees complete, but is not a required course. Other 48 classroom hours in real estate courses can meet this requirement.
- Nine college elective credit hours. This is the equivalent of 144 classroom hours and is the highest number of electives accepted by the Commission.
* If the licensee has not completed nine college elective hours, they must complete an additional 144 classroom hours in real estate courses.
This will total 336 classroom hours.
This example is of a typical broker applicant's education. However, there are other courses that can be counted, for example, some designation courses such as GRI, CCIM, and CRS.
Before registering for the broker exam to ensure that you have completed the required hours, request an Education Review, form 603. Please allow 7-10 days for processing. DO NOT register for the examination unless you have verified with the KREC that you have completed all of the required hours.
Checklist for application submissions:
Click the type of license/capacity in which the license will be issued to see a checklist of items to submit. Please be sure all items are completed and correct before mailing to the Commission. Applicants who have unique circumstances or specific questions should contact the Commission.
Testing Changes Effective July 1, 2015:
Beginning JULY 1, 2015, candidates who pass one portion of the Kentucky Salesperson or Kentucky Broker exam (national or state law) and fail the other portion may retake the failed portion within four (4) months of passing the first portion. After four (4) months of the initial testing date, both portions must be retaken. Once both portions have been passed, within the required four (4) month period, a candidate will be given the application form at the testing center and will have sixty (60) days to apply for their license. After sixty (60) days, the entire exam is voided.
The cost of the exam is $100, whether you take one or both portions. Candidates must complete all course requirements and request their FBI report prior to taking the licensing exam.