Steps to Obtain a License through Reciprocity

- 1. Review the requirements of each reciprocity agreement to see if you qualify for licensure.
 - a. Florida:
 - i. Sales Associate- must be actively licensed in Florida as a sales associate for a minimum of one (1) year immediately preceding the submission of your reciprocal application.
 - ii. Broker- must be actively license in Florida as a broker for a minimum of two (2) years immediately preceding the submission of your reciprocal application.
 - b. Ohio:
 - i. Sales Associate- must be actively licensed in Ohio as a sales associate for a minimum of one (1) year immediately preceding the submission of your reciprocal application.
 - ii. Broker- must be actively licensed in Ohio as a broker for a minimum of two (2) years immediately preceding the submission of your reciprocal application.
 - c. Tennessee:
 - i. Sales Associate- must be actively licensed in Tennessee as an associate broker for a minimum of one (1) year immediately preceding the submission of your reciprocal application.
 - ii. Broker- must be actively licensed in Tennessee as a broker for a minimum of three (3) years immediately preceding the submission of your reciprocal application.
 - d. West Virginia
 - i. Sales Associate- must be actively licensed in West Virginia as an associate broker for a minimum of one (1) year immediately preceding the submission of your reciprocal application.
 - ii. Broker- must be actively licensed in West Virginia as a principal or designated broker for a minimum of one (1) year immediately preceding the submission of your reciprocal application.
- 2. Complete the forty-hour (40) reciprocal license law course through a KREC-approved education provider.

- 3. Submit your fingerprints for a national criminal history check. (<u>http://krec.ky.gov/ppc/newstatic_info.aspx?static_id=209</u>)
- Register for the licensing exam through PSI (reciprocity broker exam or reciprocity sales associate exam, depending on your license type). (<u>https://candidate.psiexams.com/catalog/fap_test_details.jsp?testid=2312&prev_page=/catalog/fap_test_catalog_details.jsp</u>)
- 5. Apply for license by following **ONE** of the following:
 - a. **Mail submission:** You will receive a paper application at the testing site upon passing both portions of the exam. Complete the application and send it to the Commission's office with a check or money order for the appropriate payment.
 - b. **Online submission:** You will receive an email from <u>ppc.krec@ky.gov</u> within 36-48 hours of passing both portions of the exam. Read the email *carefully*. Click on the link and follow the prompts. At the end of the application, you will be asked to pay the appropriate fees with a credit/debit card or ACH (electronic check).

Supplemental Items to Include with Application:

- Certificate of completion of the reciprocal license law course
- Proof of errors and omissions insurance coverage
- A license history certification or letter of good standing from every state in which you are licensed as a real estate agent
- Payment for licensing fees
 - \$130 for an active license
 - \$120 for an inactive license

Additional Things to Remember:

- You must submit your fingerprints for the national criminal history check before registering for the exam. You <u>do not</u> have to have the results of the history check before registering for the exam.
- You must submit your completed application to the Commission within sixty (60) days of passing both portions. Failure to submit it within the timeframe will void your exam results.
- National criminal history checks are valid for ninety (90) days. You must pass the exam and submit the application before your background check expires.
- If you are applying as a principal broker, please note you must have a definite place of business (not a P.O. box) in Kentucky as well as an escrow account at a bank located in Kentucky.