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FORM 701 

Attached is the form that you will need to file a formal Sworn Statement of Complaint against a real 
estate sales associate and/or broker licensed by the Kentucky Real Estate Commission (the 
“Commission”).  

Before completing the form and the Damages Claimed Sheet, please read all of the information that is 
being provided: “Instructions To File A Formal Complaint With The Kentucky Real Estate 
Commission,” “How The Complaint Process Works,” “2-Year Filing Deadline Notice,” and “Legal 
Representation Notice.” 

The Complaint form must be filled out concisely and include all pertinent facts. You should also attach 
copies of any documents that you feel the Commission should consider.  

Please mail your Complaint and any attachments to the above address. Allow at least thirty (30) days 
for processing, before making any inquiries about your complaint.  

All Complaints, plus attachments, are to be submitted on 8 ½ x 11 inch paper and without staples. The 
ORIGINAL and NOTARIZED Complaint must be filed with the Commission. If your Complaint is 
received and these guidelines are not adhered to, it may be returned to you for compliance.  

Please note that the Commission does not accept Complaints that allege the following, because the 
Commission lacks jurisdiction over such matters: 

1. Commission disputes between licensees;

2. Issues of contractual interpretation or attempts to enforce contractual obligations;

3. Actions against a seller who does not hold a real estate license; and

4. Enforcement of Realtor Code of Ethics if the ethical violation does not also constitute a
violation of license law.

http://www.krec.ky.gov/
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INSTRUCTIONS TO FILE A FORMAL COMPLAINT WITH 
THE KENTUCKY REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

To file a formal Complaint with this Commission against a licensee (hereafter referred to 

as “Respondent”), complete, and return the attached Complaint form as outlined below: 

1. In order for your Complaint to be legitimate, the alleged violations must fall under KRS

324.160 of our law manual. It should be noted that the Commission does not have any

authority to get money back that you feel is owed to you as a result of a real estate

agent’s negligent—as opposed to “fraudulent”—conduct. Nor does it have any

authority to compel anyone to take corrective action or to settle any fee or

commission disputes. These functions are primarily for the courts.

The Commission has authority to take disciplinary action against a real estate 

agent’s license if it is proven that the agent has violated any of Kentucky’s real 

estate license laws. For violations, the Commission may order one or more of the 

following sanctions against the agent’s license: revocation, suspension, probation 

(up to 12 months), fine (not to exceed $1,000.00), or completion of additional 

hours of continuing education. It may also issue a formal or informal reprimand. 

See KRS 324.160(1). 

2. When filling out the Complaint form, please state your Complaint fully and concisely.

Please attach copies of all relevant documents.

3. Note that your Complaint must be against a licensed Real Estate Sales Associate or

Broker, rather than a company or corporation. Specify the name of any Sales Associates

or Brokers against whom the Complaint is being made. In order for the Complaint to be

also against the Principal Broker, he or she must be specifically named on the cover page

and in the Complaint text. Please note that, pursuant to KRS 324.160 (6), a Principal

Broker is liable for acts of an associate licensed under him or her only for failing to

adequately supervise the licensed affiliate’s activities or having actual knowledge of a

violation of an affiliate.
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4. After completing the Complaint Form, have your signature notarized by a Notary Public, 

or it will be returned to you. 

 

5. If your Complaint alleges a prima facie case of violation of the law, the Respondent will 

be sent a copy of your Complaint and must respond within twenty (20) days. A copy of 

the response will be sent to you. If the Complaint does not allege a prima facie case of 

violation of the law, it may be dismissed. 

 

6. Once the response is received, the Complaint and Response will be reviewed by the 

Commission. If there is enough evidence in the Complaint that a violation may have 

occurred, it will be assigned to a Commission investigator. This process takes anywhere 

from two to four months and sometimes longer. There is no way to predict how long the 

investigation will take. 

 

7. Once we have received the report of investigation, the matter is placed before the full 

Commission for review. It will either be dismissed or set for a pre-hearing or 

administrative hearing. If your case is dismissed, you will receive an Order of Dismissal 

in the mail. In some cases, you may have appeal rights. You should seek private legal 

counsel for legal advice pertaining to the matter. Consumer appeals of dismissals rarely 

occur. 

 

8. If your Complaint warrants a hearing, you will receive a Notice of Hearing and Charges. 

This entire process takes approximately six (6) months to one (1) year. This process 

involves numerous factors and there is no way to calculate a specific time for all cases. 

 

9. Once you have completed the hearing process, your case is again reviewed by the full 

Commission. A decision will be made and a Final Order will be mailed to you. In some 

cases, a party may have appeal rights. You should seek private legal counsel for legal 

advice pertaining to the matter.  If you find that you, in fact, have the right to appeal, you 

may appeal the Final Order to the Circuit Court in the county where you live within thirty 

(30) days of the Order date. 

 

10. Please be sure your Complaint is legible, so that it can be easily read and copied. 
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11. If your address and/or phone number changes, be sure to notify the Commission 

immediately.  

 

12. The attached “Damages Claimed” sheet must be completed. If you are not claiming 

damages, simply write “NONE” on the report. If it is your belief that a licensee of the 

Commission has engaged in fraudulent conduct and that the alleged fraudulent conduct 

has caused you to suffer monetary damages, fill out the form completely listing all 

damages you are seeking to recover, and attach copies of any and all receipts, estimates, 

etc. 

 

13. The Real Estate Commission promotes the settlement of cases without the necessity of 

holding an administrative hearing. The Commission may conduct settlement conferences 

if both the complainant and respondent indicate interest. Please contact the Commission 

for more information if you are interested in settlement. 
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HOW THE COMPLAINT PROCESS WORKS 
 
 

 The Commission receives hundreds of consumer Complaints each year. Licensees should 
be aware of the process by which Complaints are reviewed and processed by the Commission. 
 
1. The Commission receives a consumer Complaint. The Complaint must state facts that, if 

true, amount to an allegation of illegal activity by the licensee. The legal term for this is 
“prima facie case.” The legal authority for this standard is KRS 324.151 (1). 

 
2. The Commission sends the consumer Complaint to the licensee. The licensee must 

respond to the Complaint within twenty (20) days. The licensee must also send a copy of 
his answer to the consumer. 

 
3. The Commission reviews the Answer and the Complaint. If sufficient allegations are 

made by the consumer, the Commission orders the case investigated. The Commission 
investigator interviews all parties and relevant witnesses. Licensees are required to 
cooperate with Commission investigations (See KRS 324.160(4)(s)). The time required to 
complete an investigation varies with each case. The complexity of the case, the number 
of witnesses and the necessity of evidence retrieval all contribute to the length of 
investigation. Investigations generally take between two (2) and four (4) months or 
longer.  

 
 The Commission may also dismiss the case at this point if the consumer has made 

insufficient allegations of illegal activity by the licensee. 
 
4. The investigator submits his report to the Commission. The Commission reviews cases at 

its monthly meetings. If sufficient allegations of a prima facie case are indicated, the 
Commission orders a hearing in the matter. The complainant in the case will be the 
Commission only if it appears to the Commission based upon its review that the licensee 
has not engaged in any fraudulent activity, while committing the alleged violation(s) of 
licensee law. If, on the other hand, it appears to the Commission that the licensee has not 
only violated a license law(s), but has also done so by engaging in fraud, then the 
complainant in the action will be the Commission (represented by a staff attorney) and 
the consumer(s).  

 
5. The Commission may dismiss a case after reviewing the investigation. The matter is then 

finished. In some cases, you may have appeal rights. You should seek private legal 
counsel for legal advice pertaining to the matter. Consumer appeals of dismissals rarely 
occur. 

 
 If the Commission orders a hearing after reviewing the investigation, a Notice of Hearing 

and Charges will be sent out.  
 
 Many cases before the Commission are also the subject of circuit court actions. 

Commission cases are often held in abeyance pending the conclusion of the circuit court 
matter. Attorneys for licensees often are unable to schedule a hearing immediately. This 
may delay the hearing date. 

 



Document #701  
Page 5 of 8 - INSTRUCTIONS 

 
6. A hearing is held. Hearing Officers preside over hearings. The Commission uses Hearing 

Officers from the Kentucky Attorney General’s Office. The Hearing Officer makes 
rulings on evidence (much like a judge) and makes a recommendation regarding the facts 
and legal issues of the case to the Commission (much like a jury). 

 
 Exceptions to the Hearing Officer’s recommendations may be filed by the parties in a 

Commission case. Exceptions state where and why a party disagrees with the Hearing 
Officer’s Recommended Order. The Commission reviews the recommendations, 
exceptions, and pleadings in the case. The Order will either find that the licensee is in 
violation of KRS Chapter 324, dismiss the charges, or send the case back to the Hearing 
Officer for a partial hearing. 

 
 The hearing process can take a number of months. The Hearing Officer has ninety (90) 

days to prepare his or her Recommendations. Each party has another fifteen (15) days to 
file exceptions. The Commission will then review the case at its monthly meeting. 

  
Following the Final Order, in some cases, either party may appeal the Commission’s 
decision. You should seek private legal counsel for legal advice pertaining to the matter.  
KRS 324.160 (1) lists the possible disciplinary actions the Commission may order against 
a licensee. The possible discipline includes suspension or revocation of a license, fines 
not to exceed $1,000, probation up to 12 months, require attendance at real estate 
educational courses, and formal or informal reprimand. 

 
 The Commission must charge and prove that the licensee has committed a license law 

violation by engaging in fraud, before it can order a Recovery Fund award to a consumer. 
In Recovery Fund cases, the Commission first allows the licensee an opportunity to pay 
the consumer. If the licensee fails to pay the consumer, the Commission pays the 
consumer from its Recovery Fund and suspends or revokes the licensee’s license until the 
amount so ordered (plus interest) is repaid to the Commission’s Recovery Fund by the 
licensee. 
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2-YEAR FILING DEADLINE NOTICE 
 
 

All complaints against real estate agents must be filed with the Kentucky Real 

Estate Commission (“Commission”) within two (2) years. The clock for this 2-year period 

will start to run either on the date that you have actual knowledge of your possible cause of 

action or on the date that circumstances should have made you aware of it. See 201 KAR 11:190, 

Section 1(1)(e).  

 

Filing a complaint with the Commission is NOT the same thing as filing a complaint 

in court. If you decide to also file a complaint in court, you must do so before the court’s 

filing deadline, and if your purchase contract includes a mediation/arbitration provision to 

deal with disputes, you must timely seize that opportunity.  

 

Your failure to act in a timely manner could cause you to lose your opportunity to be 

heard on your cause of action. Don’t let this happen. If you are uncertain about any of your legal 

rights, you should contact an attorney.  
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LEGAL REPRESENTATION NOTICE 
 
 

Please be aware that the Commission’s staff attorney may present your evidence at the 

Commission hearing if you do not have an attorney. However, the Commission’s staff attorney 

does not represent you, nor is he or she your attorney. The Commission’s staff attorney 

represents the Real Estate Commission at the hearing and simply assists you at the hearing with 

the presentation of your evidence. He or she does not argue your case for you. 

 

If you were to hire an attorney to represent you, your attorney would be required to have 

ethical duties to you, which the Commission’s staff attorney does not have. If you hire a private 

attorney, your attorney may take depositions, send interrogatories to the other side, and generally 

do everything in his or her legal power to help you win your case. The Commission’s staff 

attorney does not owe these duties to you. His or her primary duty is to represent the Real Estate 

Commission. 

 

A private attorney would be available to you for phone consultation, prepare your 

documents for the hearing, and spend time with you preparing your case and reviewing it with 

you. You are responsible for preparing your witness list, mailing document copies to present at 

the hearing, and making requests for subpoenas to the Commission for your Real Estate 

Commission case. 

 

The Commission attorney will: 

• Accept your written questions if you want the Commission’s staff attorney to ask 

questions of witnesses. 

• Discuss your case with you over the phone a week or so before the hearing. 

• Help you at the hearing with presenting your documents to the Hearing Officer for 

submission into the record. 

• Examine all witnesses called. 
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You are responsible for the following: 

• Meeting any deadlines from the Hearing Officer concerning exchange of witness and 

document lists. 

• Collecting the exhibits you want introduced at the hearing. Even if you have already 

submitted these documents to the Commission at some time, you must have the 

documents ready. You also must make copies for all parties before the hearing to 

distribute at the hearing. You should prepare documents for anything you want the 

Commission to consider when deciding your case. 

• Subpoenaing all witnesses you want to testify. Do not rely on affidavits or written 

statements. These documents are hearsay and may not be admissible at the hearing. 

• Come prepared to present evidence of the damages you have incurred. Once again, do not 

rely on affidavits, written estimates, or invoices. You should subpoena witnesses if you 

want the Commission to consider evidence from them concerning damages. 

 

  

IIMMPPOORRTTAANNTT!!!!  
 

REMEMBER, YOUR CASE IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY. 

 It is your responsibility to collect your exhibits and have them ready at the 

hearing. The Commission’s staff attorney can present your evidence if you bring it to the 

hearing. 

PLEASE MEET ALL DEADLINES PROVIDED BY THE HEARING OFFICER. 

 Your evidence may not be admitted at the hearing if you miss deadlines to 

provide documents or witness lists. Of course, you may hire a private attorney to 

represent you for your Commission hearing. 
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CASE #       

Commission Use Only 
 

SWORN STATEMENT OF COMPLAINT 
 

Kentucky Real Estate Commission 
10200 Linn Station Road, Suite 201 

Louisville, KY 40223 
(502) 429-7250 or Toll-free 1-888-373-3300 

 
YOUR COMPLAINT MUST BE SUBMITTED ON THIS FORM ONLY. 

PLEASE TYPE, USE WORD PROCESSING, OR PRINT LEGIBLY. 
 

 
 Are you a Licensed Real Estate Agent or Broker?  Yes________No________ 

 
(Full names only, no initials or nicknames) 
COMPLAINANT:              
ADDRESS:               
CITY:          STATE          ZIP    
COUNTY:  __________________________ 
 
TELEPHONE:   ( )      (Day) 
   ( )      (Evening) 
   ( )      (Fax) 
   ( )      (Cellular) 
   (           )  ______________________ (E-mail) 
 
RESPONDENT:             
ADDRESS:              
CITY:          STATE          ZIP    
COUNTY:        
 
RESPONDENT:             
ADDRESS:              
CITY:          STATE          ZIP    
COUNTY:        
 
REAL ESTATE COMPANY:           
PRINCIPAL BROKER:            
COMPANY ADDRESS:            
CITY:          STATE          ZIP    
COUNTY:        
 
STATE OF KENTUCKY 
COUNTY OF           
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I,           , being first duly sworn, state: 
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Please give the date you became aware of the problem surrounding this complaint: 
 
   . 
 
and 
 
Please note whether there was a home inspection conducted on this transaction: 
 
   . 
 
 
     Signature         
           Complainant 
 
 
Sworn and Subscribed before me this     day of     ,   20  . 
 
 
             
     Notary Public 
 

My Commission expires       
 

      
Signature         

           Co-Complainant or Spouse 
 
 
Sworn and Subscribed before me this     day of     ,   20  . 
 
 
             
     Notary Public 
 

My Commission expires       
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
**The Following “Damages Claimed” sheet must be attached with this Complaint for 
proper processing. 
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DAMAGES CLAIMED 
 

 Please fill out the following blanks, detailing damages that you are claiming in this 

complaint.  If you are not claiming damages, please write “NONE.”  If you are claiming 

damages, please list each item separately and include the damage amount for each item.  Please 

attach any and all receipts to this form and include this sheet with the complaint. Please attach 

any additional sheets as necessary.  Emotional damages, attorney’s fees, and pain and 

suffering are not recoverable at the Kentucky Real Estate Commission. 

 
 
Amount   Item    
____________________ ___________________________________________ 
 
Reason: 
____________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
____________________________________________________________________ 
Amount   Item    
____________________ ____________________________________________ 
 
Reason: 
____________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
____________________________________________________________________ 
 
Amount   Item    
____________________ ____________________________________________ 
 
Reason: 
____________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
____________________________________________________________________ 
 
Amount   Item    
____________________ ____________________________________________ 
 
Reason: 
____________________________________________________________________ 
 
____________________________________________________________________ 
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List individuals giving estimates on the above named damages: 

 
 
Name     Company   

 
             
 
 Phone Number   Address 
 
 (       )              
 

 
 
Name     Company   

 
             
 
 Phone Number   Address 
 
 (       )             

 
 
 
Name     Company   

 
             
 
 Phone Number   Address 
 
 (       )               
 

 
 
Name     Company   

 
             
 
 Phone Number   Address 
 
 (       )               
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