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Commissioner Jim Huff Reappointed

On November 16, 2011, Governor
Steve Beshear reappointed James
“Jim” H. Huff to a 4-year term as
Commissioner. This is his 7th
appointment to the Commission.

Mr. Huff was originally appointed
in 1981 by Governor John Y.
Brown. Although Mr. Huff has not
served continuously, he has been on
the Commission for a total of 22
years. Obviously, the licensees of
the Commonwealth of Kentucky
benefit from Mr. Huff’s many years
of service.

Mr. Huff began his real estate

career as a sales associate in 1972.
In 1975, Mr. Huff opened the 1st
Huff Realty in Ft. Mitchell. Over

the next 30 years, he grew the com-
pany into the 2nd leading residen-
tial real estate brokerage in Greater
Cincinnati. In March 2006, Mr.
Huff solidified the Huff name as a
leader in the local real estate mar-
ket by brokering a deal that resulted
in Huff Realty’s acquisition by
HomeServices of America, Inc., a
Berkshire Hathaway affiliate, the
second largest home services
provider in the United States.

A few of Mr. Huff’s other accom-
plishments include: Director of the
Association of Real Estate License
Law Officials, REALTOR® of the
year in 1981 by Kenton-Boone
Board of REALTORS®, and Past
President of the Kenton-Boone
Board of REALTORS®. He also
established the statewide errors and
omissions insurance program for
real estate licensees, and he con-
tributed to the establishment of
property management regulations
while serving as a Commissioner.

Mr. Huff currently serves on the
Greater Cincinnati/Northern
Kentucky International Airport
Board and is an Advisory Board
Member of the Federal Reserve
Bank of Cleveland, Cincinnati

Don’t Forget to Renew Your License Online

Renewal Payments Must Be Received By March 31, 2012
More Information Can Be Found On Pages 6 - 7

Branch. He is a past member of the
Tri-County Economic Development
Corporation. He also served as
chairman, secretary and board
member for the Northern Kentucky
Chamber of Commerce and has
served on numerous other boards
throughout Northern Kentucky. He
is also a renowned personality in the
tri-state area and avidly supports
and contributes to its communities.

Mr. Huff resides in Ft. Mitchell,
Kentucky with his wife, Bert. They
have two adult children, Susan and
Rodney, and they are the proud
grandparents of Jessica, Jamie,
Maria, Justin, Jacob and Emily.

Welcome back, Commissioner Huff!
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Comments from

the Chair
by: Bob Roberts,
Chair

EXPLANATION OF NEW KREC-APPROVED
ALTERNATE AGENCY FORMS

It is my honor and privilege to
serve as the Chair of the KREC.
I would like to take this opportu-
nity to explain a few new agency
forms approved and available for
licensees who work with land-
lords and tenants.

These new forms, which are listed
below, were developed in response
to an increase in the demand for
licensees to represent prospective
landlords and tenants. The
KREC created these alternate
Agency Disclosure Statements
and Consumer Guide model poli-
cies at the end of last year. The
alternate forms, which are dated
December 2011, will not be
required by law until

Administrative Regulation 201
KAR 11:400 has been amended
through the regulatory process. In
the meantime, licensees may use
the alternate forms whenever they
have customers or clients who are
involved in either the lease/rental
of residential property or the pur-
chase/sale of it. In other words,
use of either the original agency
forms or the alternate ones is
approved by the KREC. The
alternate forms can be accessed
from the KREC’s website
(www.krec.ky.gov) under “Legal,”
“Forms & Contracts.”

The following is a list containing
the form names and numbers for
your convenience.

Alternate Agency Forms - New

A109
[December 2011]
110
Model
[December 2011]
Alll
[December 2011]
All2
[December 2011]
All3

Explanation of Alternate Agency Forms

Alternate Form—Consumer Guide to Agency Relationships

Alternate Form—Agency Disclosure Statement —Buyer

Alternate Form—Agency Disclosure Statement —Seller

Alternate Form—Consumer Guide to Agency Relationships

Model Policy for Designated Agency and Dual Agency—

[December 2011]
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Comments from the
Executive Director

By: Michael W. Wooden,
Executive Director

The last several months have been hectic at the
KREC. The call volume and workload increas-
es at the end of the year due to the December
31st continuing education deadline. Many of
the calls are from licensees asking about their
specific requirements. I would like to encour-
age licensees to utilize the KREC Database,
which can be accessed through the KREC web-
site. The database is a valuable tool and is
available even when the KREC office is closed.
I would also like to encourage licensees to com-
plete their education requirements as early in
the year as possible. Our website contains a
complete list of approved providers and a cur-
rent schedule of Kentucky Core Course offer-
ings. Waiting until the end of the year does not
allow the time necessary to reschedule courses
that are full or when emergencies arise.

In January, the final testing phases of the online
renewal system were completed. The online
renewal system looks very similar to last year,

except there are several new enhancements.

Licensees can now make contact information
changes while renewing their license, and sev-
eral “user-friendly” features have been added.

The system opened up for principal brokers on
February 21, 2012 and on March 1, 2012 for
all other licensees. So far, the KREC has
received many favorable comments. Licensees
have told us the online system is very easy,
and we are receiving overwhelming positive
feedback about the ability to pay online. The
KREC is currently working on an online
licensing system that will be available all year
for licensee transactions.

I would like to thank Education Director
Deirdre Cummings for her hard work and
commitment to this project. I would also like
to thank her entire department for putting in
many long hours designing, testing and
improving the KREC online renewal system.

In closing out 2011, I thought I would take
this forum to provide you with several inter-
esting licensee statistics. I often get questions
about licensee totals, the number of new
licensees, and how many complaints are
received. I have compiled a list below with
totals for 2011. I also included information
on current licensee statistics.

2011 KREC STATISTICS

Legal Phone Inquiries 3,680 Principal Brokers 3,293
Legal E-mail Inquiries 1,660 Active Broker Associates 1,268
E-mails Received from Website 1,595 Active Sales Associates 7,946
Signed Settlement Agreements 30 Escrow Brokers 1,357
Complaints Received 153 Escrow Sales Associates 9,826
Cases on Commission Agenda 234 New Sales Associates 549

New Broker Associates 122

TOTAL LICENSEES 23,690
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Linda Cecil
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Submission of Offers & Handling Multiple Offers

The following is an excerpt from the
Kentucky Real Estate Professionals and the
Law and is provided because of the
recurring issues that are raised regard-
ing offers. It can be found in Section
2:43 of the textbook.

201 KAR 11:045 gives some guidance
to agents and brokers as to how to han-
dle the presentation of multiple offers.
That regulation states that "each
licensee shall, without delay, submit all
written offers to lease or purchase real
estate for which the licensee is agent to
his principal or owner-client for the
decision of the owner-client for his
acceptance or rejection.” The regula-
tion goes on to state "each licensee, who
represents a prospective

purchaser, shall, without

delay, submit all written

offers to lease or pur-

chase real estate from his

client, to the owner of

the property or to the

owner's real estate agent

if he is represented by a

real estate agent." According to these
regulations, the agent must submit all
offers to his or her principal without
delay. This statute does not mean that
the agent must stop whatever he or she
is doing and deliver the offer. However,
it does mean that the agent should con-
tact his or her principal immediately
and arrange to meet as soon as is prac-
tically possible so that the client will
have ample time to consider the offer
before the time period for expiration
has elapsed.

The Commission deliberately left out a
specific time frame in the regulation.
Some transactions may involve unique
circumstances, such as out-of-state or
vacationing clients. However, "without
delay" literally means as soon as possi-
ble. With today's technology, it is advis-
able to maintain contact with out-of-
state or vacationing clients through
their cell phones, e-mail addresses, or

4

fax numbers, so that the agent can
immediately contact the clients upon
the receipt of an offer.

An agent may never conceal or fail to
submit an offer for any reason, includ-
ing the agent's belief that the offer is too
low and that the seller will refuse it. The
obligation imposed under the regula-
tion is consistent with the broker's oblig-
ation to disclose to his or her principal
all facts within his or her knowledge
pertaining to the subject matter of the
agency relationship. In addition, if a
prospective purchaser wants to make a
written offer, the licensee is obligated to
reduce that offer to writing and present
that offer to the seller, no matter how
low the offer is.

Contrary to the belief of
many agents and con-
sumers, the license law
does not require the list-
ing agent to submit
offers to the seller in the
order received, provided
that all offers are
promptly tendered. If numerous offers
are delivered to an agent within a short
period of time, and before the agent has
had an opportunity to deliver the offers
to his or her principal, the agent should
present all offers to the seller or princi-
pal at the same time. Buying real prop-
erty is not a first—come, first—served
proposition.

A real estate licensee must always pre-
sent all offers as soon as possible after
receipt. An agent should not, under any
circumstances, wait until the seller has
accepted or countered before presenting
a second offer. Imagine the seller's hor-
ror if he or she were to accept an offer
for $100,000 only to find out that an
offer for $120,000 was waiting in the
wings. It is important to be especially
careful when there are multiple offers
and one of the buyers is represented by

Continued on Page 5



Submission of Offers &

Handling Multiple Offers
Continued from Page 4

the listing agent while others are represented by other
agents. If the agent does not present the offer as time-
ly as possible, suspicion will be raised as to whether
the other agents' offers were held back because of the
possibility of a dual commission payment. The seller
should always decide which offer to choose. While the
real estate agent is there to offer advice as a profes-
sional, it is important to allow the seller to choose the
offer he or she ultimately desires, especially in a mul-
tiple-offer situation. If the agent cannot get to the sell-
er's home or office immediately, it is best to call or fax
the seller to let him or her know that another offer has
come in and that he or she needs to consider it before
making a decision on prior offers.

If a seller is presented with several offers, the agent
must instruct the seller that the seller may accept or

counter only one of those offers. If a seller provides a
counteroffer to two offers, the seller may be obligated
to sell the property to two different parties and may
subject himself or herself to legal ramifications, such
as a lawsuit.

In addition, an agent must be especially careful in
handling offers after the client has an outstanding
counteroffer. For example, if a seller has rejected an
offer and countered for a different price and allows the
purchaser twenty-four hours to accept or reject the
counteroffer, he or she must withdraw that counterof-
fer before accepting any other offers. A consumer may
always legally withdraw an offer or counteroffer
before acceptance, unless it is in the form of an option
contract. An option contract is a "contract made to
keep an offer open for a specified period, so that the
offeror cannot revoke the offer during that period." If
the seller wishes to withdraw the counteroffer, it is
imperative that the agent contact the buyer or the
buyer's agent, preferably in writing, to ensure that the
withdrawal has been properly effected.

THE SAFE ACT - Where are we now?

BY: Jennifer Fields, Attorney
Borders and Borders PLC

Many of you have been asking for the current status of
the SAFE Act. The evolution of the law has been
gradual over time and can get somewhat confusing.

BACKGROUND

Congress passed the SAFE Act ("Secure and Fair
Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act") in 2008.
The SAFE Act requires that anyone who originates
mortgage loans to be a registered originator. Prior to
the SAFE Act, there was no national registration sys-
tem for mortgage lenders. The purpose of registration
is to make sure that all loan officers meet certain stan-
dards and that bad actors can be held accountable.
Registration requires an application and a fee but also
passing a rather rigorous test. Congress required that
all states pass a similar law by 2010.

Kentucky's version, passed in June 2009, mirrored the
federal law. It required that anyone originating loans
go through the registration process as outlined above.
The primary exceptions to the rule were in the follow-
ing cases: a.) lending to immediate family members;
b.) a seller-financing if the property was the seller's pri-
mary residence (defined as currently the seller's prima-
ry residence); or c.) the subject property was non-resi-
dential.

The law created quite a stir. Real estate professionals
were concerned about further limiting financing
options in a market of contracting lending opportuni-
ties. In short, people were having a hard time getting
loans and were seeking alternative financing options
and this law restricted those options.

Gradually over time, there was more understanding of
the application of the law. The Kentucky Department
of Financial Institutions ("DFI") has stated that the
law does not apply, for example, to "investor to
investor" transactions. Their position, supported by
the definition within the statute, is that the law is
directed to residential mortgage loans to consumers,
meaning individuals who are borrowing the funds for
a personal, family, or household purpose. So if one
investor sold to another, who would not be living in
the property, but rather borrowing the money for a
commercial (profit-making) purpose, the original
investor who carried the financing would not have to
be a registered originator or lender.

CURRENT STATUS

There were lots of rumblings regarding the SAFE Act
in the real estate community both nationally and local-
ly. In 2011, the Kentucky real estate community,
along with DFI, petitioned the Kentucky General

Continued on Page 11



It’s March Madness at the KREC!

It doesn't matter what kind of license you have, or if your last name and first name and click "START THE
your license is active or in escrow, ALL licenses expire =~ SEARCH." Click on the (+) sign next to your name
on March 31, 2012 and MUST be renewed through the and your record will appear.

KREC online renewal program. If you do not renew )
your license by March 31, 2012, you will be subject to What If I Forgot My Password From Last Year?

a late renewal fine and license cancellation. The Do not worry; it is easy to reset your password your-

KREC is open Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. - self. At the renewal login screen click "Forgot
4:30 p.m. There will be a computer available for your ~ Fassword." You will then answer the two security
use in our lobby. We will also travel to three locations questions and a temporary password will be e-mailed

throughout the state to assist licensees with online to the e-mail address we have on file. If you do not
renewal. Please see page 7 for dates and locations. haYe an e-mail on file or you have not updated your e-
Just remember, March 31, 2012 falls on a Saturday and mail, your password will have to be reset by a KREC
our office will be closed. Your payment and renewal staff member.

MUST be received by March 31, 2012. Can I Update My Contact Information?

Will I Receive A Renewal Notice? Yes, it is very important to make sure your home

The TREC railed remewal qmtiee 1 address and e-mail address are correct. Last year,
many licensees entered an e-mail address of a friend or
relative. Make sure you will receive those e-mails
because the KREC sends important
information and notices to your per-
sonal contact e-mail address.

The KREC mailed renewal notice reminders to all
licensees. Principal brokers were mailed a renewal
package with information about firm registration and
renewal. Active sales associates and
brokers were mailed a yellow post-
card. Licensees who did not renew
online last year received a letter con-
taining a temporary password. If
you did not receive anything from the
KREC regarding renewal, it most
likely means that you have not updat- ‘Bonus completion. Tt will say, "PAY-

ed your home add.re.ss/business PERIODS MENT CONFIRMATION - Your
address. Not receiving a renewal A payment has been processed suc-

notice is not an acceptable excuse for cessfully." You will also receive an

not renewing on time and npt “Pdat“}g your.address. e-mail confirmation. Keep this for your records.
Not updating your address is a violation of license law.

Will I Receive A Payment
Confirmation?

Once your license is renewed you
will receive a confirmation upon

When Is The Renewal Payment Due?
Chap es From Last Yt?ar ) ) Payment must be received by March 31, 2012 at mid-
A big change this year is that licensees will be able to

night. Avoid the late renewal fine and renew on time.

update their personal information, such as home The KREC will not accept renewals after March 31,
address, phone number, and e-mail through the online 5012 without a late renewal fine.

system. Licensees will also be able to make a name

change, if necessary. It is so important to keep all of What Is The Late Renewal Fine?
your information up-to-date with the KREC in order to  Any renewal fee received after March 31, 2012 will be
receive important important information. assessed a $100.00 fine. Renewal payments received

Where Do I Go To R ) after May 15, 2012 will be assessed a $200.00 fine.
ere Do I Go To Renew?

The online renewal system is accessed through the Where Can I Find More Information?
KREC website at www.krec.ky.gov. The renewal link You can find more information on our website under
is located under the "Welcome to KREC" link. Click the "Frequently Asked Renewal Questions" link.

on the link that says "Online Renewal."
What Is The Deadline?

Where Do I Find My License Number? Your payment must be received in our office by March
31, 2012. The Commission will not accept renewal
fees beyond the deadline without a late renewal fine.
Don’t forget, March 31, 2012 is a Saturday and the
KREC office will be closed.
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The renewal notice mailing include your license num-
ber. Also, you can always find your license number

and other valuable information on our website. Click
on the KREC Database, check the disclaimer, type in



Group Errors and Omissions Insurance Contract Renewed With RISC

The KREC is very pleased to announce that the group
errors and omissions insurance contract was renewed
with Rice Insurance Services Company, LLC
(“RISC”), under the same terms and conditions as last
year. The group carrier for the 2012/2013 program is
Continental Casualty Company, one of the CNA com-
panies. As always, licensees in the Commonwealth
will have the option of purchasing group coverage
(this year's annual rate is $107.00 (plus taxes & fees))
or they may elect to purchase private coverage. If pri-
vate coverage is being purchased, licensees must have
Form #500 filled out by their insurance carrier and
download it in the online renewal system for approval.

The group program with RISC offers licensees a
$100,000.00 limit of liability, a $0 deductible, and a
$1,000,000.00 annual aggregate. RISC offers several
endorsements, at no additional expense to the licensee,
as part of the group policy. Other endorsements, such
as appraisal coverage, higher limits, and conformity
can be purchased directly from RISC. Upon approval
from the insurance department, a new optional resi-
dential investment property coverage endorsement will
be offered this year.

For more information about the group program,
please see RISC’s contact information below.

Rice Insurance Company, LLC.
Website: www.risceo.com (click on Kentucky)
Phone: 502-897-1876 or Toll Free: 1-800-637-7319
Dial Ext. 1 for Individual Endorsements & General Information
Dial Ext. 2 for Claims & Dial Ext. 3 for Firm Excess Coverage

KREC Will Hold Online Renewal Assistance Sessions

The KREC will once again be going on the road to assist licensees with online

renewal.

If you do not have access to a computer or if you are simply

uncomfortable using a computer, please stop by one of the three loca-

tions below, and a KREC staff member will be happy to assist you.
Also, the KREC office will have a computer available in our lobby for
licensees to use that do not have access to a computer. Below are the var-

T

ious locations and sessions. You do not need an appointment.

March 15, 2012 (10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m. EST)
Lexington-Bluegrass Association of REALTORS®

March 16, 2012 (10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m. EST)
Northern Kentucky Association of REALTORS®

March 21, 2012 (10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m. EST)
Somerset-Lake Cumberland Board of REALTORS®

WHAT TO BRING?

Principal Brokers will need their firm registration number, which was mailed to their office address on
file at the KREC and the escrow account information for each firm.

Anyone who did not renew online last year will receive a letter with their temporary password. You
must bring this with you in order for us to be able to assist you.

Everyone will need a credit card, debit card, or your bank account number and bank routing number.

Everyone will need to know their e-mail address.




What Licensees Need to Know About

PUFFERY IN ADVERTISEMENTS: The Difference
Between "Puffing" & '"False Advertising"

By: Y. Denise Payne Wade,
Acting General Counsel, KREC

Solicitation of clients and customers is an impor-
tant aspect of a real estate professional's daily busi-
ness, as is advertising. Restrictions apply to both.
For example, KRS 324.117(1) prohibits intentional-
ly false, misleading, or deceptive advertising.

As defined in Section 1(3) of 201 KAR 11:011,
false, misleading, or deceptive advertising is "an
advertisement that is prohibited...because the
advertisement: (a) [i]s contrary to fact; (b) [l]eads a
person to a mistaken belief or conclusion; or (c)
[klnowingly made a representation that is contrary
to fact."

In a nutshell, licensees who intentionally make
false claims or statements of fact in their advertise-
ments (or elsewhere, for that matter) risk being dis-
ciplined by the Commission for doing so. When
such matters are brought to the Commission's
attention, the Commission examines them closely.
For this reason and because licensees make a vari-
ety of claims in advertisements, the Commission
encourages licensees to be mindful of the difference
between factual claims and statements of opinion-
or "puffery"-when they are making important deci-
sions about what to include in their advertisements.
A Dbrief discussion of this difference follows.

Factual claims are statements that can be proven to
be true or false. So, licensees must have proof or
evidence to support each factual claim or statement
that they advertise about themselves or the services
they provide. If none exists, then the licensee's
unsubstantiated factual claims and statements
should not be included in their advertisements.

Unlike factual claims, statements of opinion cannot
be proven true or false. These types of statements
in advertising are described as "puffery" or "puft-
ing," which are legal terms that have been defined
by federal law and discussed in many court cases.
Defining them, the federal court in Pizza Hut, Inc.,

v. Papa John's Intern., Inc., 227 F.3d 489 (5th Cir.
2000), states:

Puffery has been discussed at some
length by other circuits. The Third
Circuit has described 'puffing' as
'advertising that is not deceptive for

no one would rely on its exaggerated
claims.' (citation omitted). Similarly,
the Ninth Circuit has defined 'puffing'
as 'exaggerated advertising, blustering
and boasting upon which no reasonable
buyer would rely...' (citation omitted).

As the court in Pizza Hut notes, "[p]uffing has been
described by most courts as involving outrageous
generalized statements, not making specific
claims, that are so exaggerated as to preclude
reliance by consumers." (citation omitted) (empha-
sis added). Continuing, the court states:

Drawing guidance from the writings
of our sister circuits and the leading
commentators, we think that non-
actionable 'puffery'comes in at least
two possible forms: (1) an exaggerated,
blustering, and boasting statement upon
which no reasonable buyer would be
justified in relying; or (2) a general
claim of superiority over comparable
products that is so vague that it can

be understood as nothing more than

a mere expression of opinion.

To conclude, being able to tell the difference
between factual claims and puffery can help you
avoid problems with the Commission, your com-
petitors, and your potential clients and customers.
So, exercise caution when you are making impor-
tant decisions about what to include in your adver-
tisements. Do not cross the line that separates
"puffing" and "intentionally false, misleading and
deceptive advertising." When in doubt, ask.
Indeed, it is better to be safe than sorry.




&2 Disciplinary Actions &12

James P. Wooten, 111

Case No. 10-0133 (Knoxville,
TN)

Violation: Mr. Wooten stipulat-
ed to a violation of KRS
324.160(4)(t), for failing to com-
ply with the Commission's July
15 2009 Agreed Final Order,
requiring him to complete three
(3) additional hours of continuing
education in law.

Disposition: Mr. Wooten agreed
to have the status of his license
changed from “cancelled” to
“voluntarily surrendered,” perma-
nently.

Bradley Warford

Case No. 10-0163 (Paint Lick)
Violation: Mr. Bradley Warford
stipulated to violations of KRS
324.160(4)(u) and (t), specifically,
201 KAR 11:121(4), for failing to
act reasonably and diligently in a
dual agency transaction, creating
confusion and causing the
untimely disclosure to his buyer-
clients of the extent of flooding
in the basement of his seller-
client's/grandmother's property,
as well as the untimely disclosure
to them of the unauthorized
home repairs/replacements that
his seller-client made as a result
of the flooding, which occurred
after his buyer-clients and seller-
client had entered into a binding
purchase/sell contract for the
property. By doing so and by,
indirectly or directly, causing his
seller-client's original seller's dis-
closure form to be improperly
updated/amended, Respondent
Warford improperly failed to
keep his clients on a level playing
field with the same body of
knowledge in the dual agency
transaction at issue.

Disposition: Mr. Warford agreed
to pay a fine in the amount of
one thousand dollars ($1,000.00).
Mr. Warford also agreed to suc-
cessfully complete three (3) hours
of continuing education in
agency law, in addition to any
hours that he is otherwise
required to take.

John B. Wheatley, Jr.

Case Nos. 08-0202 & 09-0193 -
Violation: Mr. John B.
Wheatley, Jr. stipulated to unin-
tentional violations of KRS
324.160(4)(b), (u) and (t); specifi-
cally, 201 KAR 11:121, Section
1(4), resulting from the confu-
sion, delays, and conflicts of
interest he unintentionally created
while negotiating the short sales
In question in a manner that he
mistakenly believed provided full
disclosure and transparency to all
involved, based upon his misun-
derstanding of the private legal
advice that he had sought and
obtained prior to implementing
his short sale program.
Disposition: Mr. Wheatley
agreed to have his license placed
on probation for nine (9) months.
In addition, he agreed to pay a
fine in the amount of one thou-
sand dollars ($1,000.00) and to
complete three (3) hours of con-
tinuing education in contract law
and three (3) hours in agency law,
in addition to any hours he is oth-
erwise required to complete.

Sally Taylor

Case No. 09-0123 (Floyds Knobs,
IN)

Violation: Ms. Sally Taylor stip-
ulated to a violation of KRS
324.160(4)(t) for violating 201
KAR 11:121, Section 1(4)(e) for
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failing to act reasonably and dili-
gently when she failed to provide
a level playing field, in a dual
agency transaction, creating con-
fusion and causing the untimely
disclosure, to her buyer-clients, of
the need to obtain an engineering
soil analysis for the vacant lot
that they purchased and the need
to have the property inspected by
a structural engineer to determine
the feasibility of her buyer-clients'
building plans, which information
she had received from her seller-
client/colleague. By doing so
and by also improperly delegating
to her seller-client/colleague the
responsibility of providing certain
information about the property to
her buyer-clients, Respondent
Taylor created further confusion
and failed to keep the clients on a
level playing field with the same
body of knowledge in the dual
agency transaction.

Disposition: Ms. Taylor agreed
to pay a fine in the amount of
one thousand dollars ($1,000.00)
and to successfully complete three
(3) hours of continuing education
in agency law, in addition to any
hours she is otherwise required by
law to complete.

William “Bill” Dean

Case No. #11-0070

Violation: Mr. William "Bill"
Dean stipulated to violation of
KRS 324.160(4)(u) for, directly or
indirectly, causing unauthorized
listing price changes and contract
extensions, resulting from his
undocumented and improper use
of e-mailed communications with
his seller-client.

Disposition: Mr. Dean agreed to
pay a fine in the amount of one
thousand dollars ($1,000.00).

Continued on Page 10



Disciplinary Actions
Continued from Page 9

Linda R. Willson

Case No. 10-0124 (Lexington)
Violation: Ms. Linda R. Willson
stipulated to a violation of KRS
324.160(4)(u) for improperly
reducing the price of her seller-
clients' property and, thereafter,
showing it to a prospective buyer
after Ms. Willson's listing for the
property had expired, acting
upon the verbal consent that she
had obtained from one of her
seller-clients, rather than upon
the written consent of both seller-
clients involved, as required.
Disposition: Ms. Willson agreed
to pay a fine in the amount of
five hundred dollars ($500.00)
and to accept a formal repri-
mand.

Ryan P. Van Daniker

Case No. 11-0041(Lexington) -
Violation: Mr. Ryan P. Van
Daniker stipulated to a violation
of KRS 324.160(4)(t) for violat-
ing KRS 324.020(2) by accepting
a $500.00 referral fee prior to the
reactivation of his canceled
license, due to oversight.
Disposition: Mr. Van Daniker
agreed to pay a fine in the
amount of five hundred dollars
($500.00).

Anna F. Kirby-Hunt

Case No. 09-0162 (Marion)
Violation: Ms. Anna F. Kirby-
Hunt stipulated to violations of
KRS 324.160(4)(t); specifically,
201 KAR 11:400, Section 3 (5)(c)
for failing to properly complete
the agency disclosure form and
201 KAR 11:400, Section 3 (1) &
(3)(c) for failing to provide a
Consumer Guide to Agency

Relationships.

Disposition: Ms. Kirby-Hunt
agreed to pay a fine in the
amount of five hundred dollars
($500.00), and to complete three
(3) hours of continuing educa-
tion, in agency law, in addition to
any hours she is otherwise
required. She also agreed to
accept a formal reprimand.

Mr. John W. Chappell

Case No. 09-0162 (Fredonia)
Violation: Mr. John W.
Chappell stipulated to a violation
of KRS 324.160(6) for failing to
adequately supervise his sales
associate, Anna F. Kirby-Hunt, to
ensure that her aforementioned
violations of the agency disclo-
sure requirements would not
occur.

Disposition: Mr. Chappell
agreed to pay a fine in the
amount of five hundred dollars
($500.00) and to successfully
complete three (3) hours of con-
tinuing education, in agency law,
in addition to any hours he is
otherwise required to complete;
and to accept a formal repri-
mand.

Joseph S. Dickerson

Case No. 11-0067
(Elizabethtown)

Violation: Mr. Joseph S.
Dickerson stipulated to a viola-
tion of KRS 324.160(4)(t) for vio-
lating a lawful Order of the
Commission by untimely paying
a fine imposed in another
Commission case.

Disposition: Mr. Dickerson
agreed to pay a fine in the
amount of five hundred dollars
($500.00).

Ms. Barbara Popp

Case No. 09-0123 (New Albany,

IN)

Violation: Ms. Barbara Popp
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stipulated to a violation of KRS
324.160(4)(t) for violating 201
KAR 11:121, Section 1(4)(e) for
failing to act reasonably and dili-
gently when she failed to ensure
that information that was in her
possession, as principal broker in
a dual agency transaction, was
provided to her buyer-clients.
This failure created confusion
and caused the untimely disclo-
sure, to her buyer-clients, of cer-
tain information about the prop-
erty that she had, indirectly or
directly, received in a packet from
her seller-client/affiliated-
licensee.

Disposition: Ms. Popp agreed to
pay a fine in the amount of five
hundred dollars ($500.00).

Patricia “Patty” Maupin

Case No. 11-0085 (Taylorsville)
Violation: Ms. Patricia "Patty"
Maupin stipulated to a violation
of KRS 324.160(4)(u), resulting
from her failure to take proper
and timely action to eliminate
uncertainty about her listed prop-
erty's heating system before stat-
ing definitively (and incorrectly),
in advertisements and to a
prospective purchaser, that the
property was heated by a heat
pump.

Disposition: Ms. Maupin agreed
to pay a fine in the amount of
three hundred fifty dollars
($350.00) and to accept a formal
reprimand.



Mark
Your
Calendars!

What? Remote Commission Meeting
When? July 18, 2012 at 9:00 a.m.

Where? Hyatt Regency Lexington
401 West High Street
Lexington, KY 40507

Please make plans to join us. We look forward to seeing you!

THE SAFE ACT - Where are we now?

Continued from Page 5

Assembly to pass a law that would
allow an exemption, in the event
that HUD passed an allowance, to
let a person make a mortgage loan
as long as that person didn't make
more than a certain number of
mortgages per year. This law,
passed in early 2011, allows the
Commis-sioner of DFI to grant
further exemptions to the state law
by executive order IF HUD passed
similar exemptions first.

In June 2011 HUD passed a rule
explaining that the SAFE Act
would not cover those who are
"not in the business" of giving
mortgages, meaning someone
"habitually" originates mortgage

loans in a business-like transaction.

Although somewhat helpful, it still

begged the question: "What do
they mean by a 'habit' of giving
mortgages?"

On January 5, 2012, our DFI gave
some great clarity to this exemp-
tion. By executive order, DFI now
allows a natural person to make
up to four mortgages per calendar
year without being a registered
originator, provided that the indi-
vidual does not make these loans
on such a regular basis as to
appear to actually be in the busi-
ness of a mortgage loan originator.

Today the exemptions to the SAFE
Act almost outweigh the rule when
it comes to private financing.
Currently, the SAFE Act does not
apply to the following: 1.) com-

The KREC office
will be closed on:

April 6, 2012 (1/2 Day)
(Good Friday)

May 28, 2012
(Memorial Day)

July 4, 2012
(Independence Day)

mercial properties; 2.) loans for a
commercial purpose (investor to
investor transactions); 3.) loans to
immediate family members; 4.)
seller financing where the property
was the seller's primary residence,
vacation home or inherited proper-
ty; or 5.) a natural person who
gives no more than four mortgages
a year.

The SAFE Act does apply to an
entity, such as an LLC or a
Corporation, providing financing,
regardless of the number of mort-
gages made in a calendar year, and
to individuals giving more than
four mortgages in one calendar
year.

The law, as it stands now, does a
good job maintaining the quality of
loan originators without unneces-
sarily burdening the real estate
market.

Principal Brokers MUST register and renew BEFORE
their broker associates and sales associates can renew.




